Šejla Kamerić

Works

Behind The Scenes I
,

Photograph, 2019

The photography shows see the artist as an innocent teenager, wearing designer fashion, stepping on a machine gun. The photo was taken on the streets of Sarajevo in 1994 during the siege for an Italian fashion magazine. The artist has rediscovered this photo after years and offers an intimate look into her past, which she describes as: »This photo was taken during the hardest and most brutal part of my life. But the image shows something else. I wonder what exactly do we see and what do we want
to see from the vastness of images that are being imposed on us in everyday news.«

Photo: © Egbert Trogemann, VG Bild-Kunst Bonn

Embarazada
,

Photograph, 2015

In the picture, the artist depicts herself as a model in an advanced stage of pregnancy with the face of a Pierrot. Since the 17th century the figure has developed from the role repertoire of the Commedia dell’Arte, standing for a naïve, melancholic and pitiful servant. With this photograph, Šejla Kamerić offers an alternative to the classical representations of a woman’s body and raises questions about forms of representation and constraints of motherhood.

Photo: © Egbert Trogemann, VG Bild-Kunst Bonn

Bosnian Girl
,

Installation / photograph, 2003

In this photograph, which was conceived as a public project, Šejla Kamerić depicts herself in the style of fashion magazines. A handwritten lettering extends over her image: »No teeth ...? A mustache ...? Smel like shit ...? Bosnian Girl!« (sic!). These are the words that a Dutch soldier left on the wall of some barracks in Potočari near Srebrenica in 1994/95. Bosnian Girl recalls the Srebrenica Genocide which was not prevented despite of the presence of the United Nations Protection Force (UNPROFOR) troops.

Photo: © Egbert Trogemann, VG Bild-Kunst Bonn

Šejla Kamerić, born in1976, based in Sarajevo and Berlin. Her works are represented in numerous solo and group exhibitions as well as collections: Tate Modern, Musée d'Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris, Vehbi Koç Foundation. She received the ECF Routes Princess Margriet Award for Cultural Diversity (2011) and DAAD-Berlin Artist Residency Fellowship (2007).

Šejla Kamerić

Werk

Behind The Scenes I
,

Fotografie, 2019

Auf dieser Fotografie zeigt sich die Künstlerin als unschuldiger Teenager, in Designermode gekleidet und auf ein Maschinengewehr tretend. Das Foto wurde 1994 auf den Straßen von Sarajevo während der Belagerung für ein italienisches Modemagazin aufgenommen. Die Künstlerin hat dieses Foto nach Jahren wiederentdeckt und gewährt einen intimen Blick in ihre Vergangenheit, die sie so beschreibt: »Dieses Foto wurde während der härtesten und brutalsten Zeit meines Lebens aufgenommen. Doch das Bild zeigt etwas anderes. Ich frage mich, was genau wir sehen und sehen möchten in der Masse an Bildern, die uns täglich in den Nachrichten auferlegt wird.«

Foto: Lutz Knospe

Embarazada
,

Fotografie, 2015

Auf dem Bild inszeniert die Künstlerin sich selbst als hochschwangeres Modell mit dem Gesicht eines Pierrot. Die Figur ent­wickelt sich seit dem 17. Jahrhundert aus dem Rollenrepertoire der Commedia dell’Arte und steht für einen naiven, melancholischen und bemitleidenswerten Diener. Mit ihrer Fotografie bietet Šejla Kamerić eine Alternative zu den klassischen Repräsentationen des weiblichen Körpers an und wirft Fragen nach den Darstellungsformen und Zwängen von Mutterschaft auf.

Foto: Lutz Knospe

Bosnian Girl
,

Installation / Fotografie, 2003

Für die als öffentliches Projekt angelegte Fotografie inszeniert Šejla Kamerić sich selbst in Anlehnung an Fotografien in Modemagazinen. Ein handgeschriebener Schriftzug erstreckt sich über ihr Bild: »No teeth ...? A mustache ...? Smel like shit ...? Bosnian Girl!« (sic!) Dabei handelt es sich um Worte, die ein niederländischer Soldat 1994/95 an der Wand einer Kaserne in Potočari bei Srebrenica hinterließ. Bosnian Girl erinnert an den Völkermord von Srebrenica, der trotz der Anwesenheit der UN-Schutztruppen (UNPROFOR) nicht unterbunden wurde.

Foto: Lutz Knospe

Šejla Kamerić, geboren 1976, wohnhaft zwischen Sarajevo und Berlin. Ihre Werke sind in zahlreichen Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen, sowie Sammlungen vertreten: Tate Modern, Musée d'Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris, Vehbi Koç Foundation. Sie erhielt den ECF Routes Princess Margriet Award for Cultural Diversity (2011) und DAAD-Berlin Artist Residency Fellowship (2007).