Sanja Iveković

Works

GEN XX
,

Fotografien, 1997-2001

Iveković blends the faces of famous models together with the biographical information of women who were part of the anti-fascist resistance during the Second World War and were either executed or driven to suicide. While the biographies of these heroines were still present several years ago, they are now increasingly disappearing from collective memory. Iveković not only raises questions about the culture of memory and historiography, but also refers to the increasing commercial objectification of women and their bodies as mere surfaces.

Photo: © Egbert Trogemann, VG Bild-Kunst Bonn

Osobni Rezovi (Personal Cuts)
,

Video, 1982

In the three-minute video, Iveković appears with a black stocking over her head. Every cut(out) reveals a part of her face and shows a snippet of archival material from Yugoslavian television. This video was broadcast on state television in Yugoslavia in 1982.

Photo: © Egbert Trogemann, VG Bild-Kunst Bonn

Trokut (Triangle)
,

Photographs, 1979

In four pictures and one text, this work describes Iveković’s performance during the official parade for Tito’s visit to Zagreb on May 10th 1979: By performing an act of masturbation, she unravels a complex triangle of relationships between men and women, gestures and looks, authority and resistance. This work, which has become iconic, exemplifies Iveković’s examination of public and private spaces, her critical questioning of gender roles and her artistic-political activism.

Photo: © Egbert Trogemann, VG Bild-Kunst Bonn

Sanja Iveković, born in 1949, is based in Zagreb. Iveković belongs to the artistic generation covered by the umbrella term New Art Practice, that emerged after ’68. Iveković’s works were shown internationally, such as documenta (1987, 2002, 2007, 2012, 2017), Tate Modern (2012), and Museum of Modern Art (2011, 2015). Iveković is the founder of Electra – The Women’s Art Center Zagreb, among others.

Sanja Iveković

Werk

GEN XX
,

Fotografien, 1997-2001

Iveković verschneidet prominente Modelgesichter mit Namen und biografischen Angaben von Frauen, die während des Zweiten Weltkrieges im antifaschistischen Widerstand waren und dafür hingerichtet oder in den Selbstmord getrieben wurden. Während die Biografien dieser Heldinnen vor Jahren noch präsent waren, verschwinden sie immer mehr aus dem kollektiven Gedächtnis. Iveković wirft nicht nur Fragen nach Erinnerungskultur und Geschichtsschreibung auf, sondern verweist gleichsam auf die zunehmende kommerzielle Objektifizierung von Frauen und ihren Körpern als reine Oberfläche.

Osobni Rezovi (Personal Cuts)
,

Video, 1982

In dem dreiminütigen Video erscheint Iveković mit einer schwarzen Strumpfmaske über dem Kopf. Jeder (Scheren-)Schnitt legt einen Teil ihres Gesichts frei und zeigt einen (Aus-)Schnitt von Archivbildern des jugoslawischen Fernsehens. Das Video wurde 1982 im staatlichen Fernsehen Jugoslawiens ausgestrahlt.

Trokut (Triangle)
,

Fotografien, 1979

In vier Bildern und einem Text beschreibt das Werk Ivekovićs Aktion zur Staatsparade Titos am 10. Mai 1979: Indem sie eine Masturbation performt, entspinnt sie ein komplexes Beziehungsdreieck zwischen Männern und Frauen, Gesten und Blicken, Autorität und Widerstand. Diese ikonisch gewordene Arbeit steht exemplarisch für Ivekovićs Auseinandersetzung mit öffentlichen und privaten Räumen, ihrer kritischen Hinterfragung von Geschlechterrollen und ihrem künstlerisch-politischen Aktivismus.

Sanja Iveković, geboren 1949, lebt und arbeitet in Zagreb. Iveković gehört zu der künstlerischen Generation, die unter dem Oberbegriff New Art Practice zusammengefasst ist und nach 1968 entstanden ist. Ivekovićs Werke wurden international gezeigt, u. a. documenta (1987, 2002, 2007, 2012, 2017), Tate Modern (2012) und Museum of Modern Art (2011, 2015). Iveković ist die Gründerin von Electra – The Women’s Art Center Zagreb.